What happens when someone mentions me in their story on Instagram?
When someone mentions you in their story, your username is visible in their story, and anyone who can see it can tap your username to go to your profile. If your account is set to private, only your approved followers can see your posts.
Stories you're mentioned in don't appear on your profile or in your tagged photos. Keep in mind that photos and videos shared to someone's story disappear to their followers after 24 hours, unless they've added those stories as highlights.
How do I know when someone mentioned me in their story?
- If someone you follow mentions you in their story, you'll get a direct message from them that includes a preview of their story.
- If someone you don't follow mentions you, it'll appear in your inbox as a message request.
How can I manage mentions?
- Who can tag or mention me in their photos and videos on Instagram?
- Who can see the photos and videos I've been tagged in on my Instagram profile?
- How do I remove myself from a photo or video someone tagged me in on Instagram?
- Who can see my private Instagram post if I add a hashtag?
- What photos and videos show up on Instagram hashtag and location pages?